Colorado Medical Marijuana Card >
Colorado Medical Marijuana Card Renewal >
Colorado Medical Marijuana Caregiver Information >
Medical Marijuana Doctors in Colorado >
Qualifying Conditions for Medical Card in Colorado >
Replacement Medical Marijuana Card in Colorado >
Medical Marijuana Cost in Colorado >
Medical Marijuana Patients Statistics in Colorado >
Yes, medical marijuana is legal in Colorado. In November 2000, the state's voters approved Amendment 20, codified in Article XVIII, Section 14 of the Colorado Constitution. This law legalized medical marijuana in the state for persons suffering from certain severe medical conditions. The Marijuana Enforcement Division under the Colorado Department of Revenue (DOR) regulates the state's medical marijuana program.
See your healthcare provider: Meet with a healthcare provider to obtain a certification for medical marijuana. The meeting can be in person or via telemedicine
Obtain a Medical Marijuana Certification: If you are eligible to use medical marijuana, the physician will issue you a certification. Minors are required to obtain two physician certifications
Complete the Application Online or by Mail: You can complete an application online or by mail to the CDPHE
Wait for Approval: Online applications take 1-3 business days to be reviewed by the CDPHE. Mail applications may take 6-8 weeks
A qualified healthcare provider must recommend marijuana treatment for a person before they can legally obtain marijuana products for medical use in Colorado. According to Article XVIII, Section 14 of the Colorado Constitution, registered medical marijuana patients and caregivers can legally purchase marijuana products from licensed dispensaries. The qualifying medical conditions for cannabis treatment in Colorado include:
Yes, you can obtain a medical marijuana card by applying online via the CDPHE online application system. You can also get a physician's recommendation to use medical marijuana via telemedicine in accordance with the Colorado Medical Board policies.
You can register with the Colorado medical marijuana program if you are eligible in accordance with the program regulations. To qualify as a participant, you must be a Colorado resident, 18 or older, and have a qualifying medical condition. The qualifying conditions include Cachexia, PTSD, cancer, seizures, or any condition for which a physician may prescribe an opioid. Minors may also participate in the program if they have qualifying conditions and they and their primary parents are Colorado residents. Note that minor patients are required to see two healthcare providers and submit two certifications authorizing medical marijuana use.
Yes, you must be a Colorado resident to obtain a medical marijuana card in the state. However, you can apply for a residency waiver if you reside in a Colorado jurisdiction but have an out-of-state driver’s license or identification. Still, the state may reject your application and request that you obtain a Colorado driver’s license or ID before re-applying. This provision applies to first-time applicants only; renewal applicants are not permitted to apply for a residency waiver.
Marijuana registry card applicants in Colorado are required to pay a non-refundable $29.5 processing fee to the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE). The CDPHE accepts credit card, debit card, and electronic check payments from online marijuana registry card applicants. Mail applicants are required to pay their processing fees with checks and money orders made out to the CDPHE. Registered medical marijuana patients in Colorado must renew their marijuana registry cards annually. Persons renewing their registry cards are required to pay a $29.5 processing fee (non-refundable). A marijuana registry card applicant may qualify for a fee waiver if their household income is 185% of the federal poverty level or less. The Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) does not require medical marijuana caregivers to pay fees before obtaining caregiver identification cards.
Registered medical marijuana patients and caregivers in Colorado are required to show their marijuana registry cards and government-issued photo identification before obtaining cannabis products at medical marijuana dispensaries. Before dispensing cannabis products, medical marijuana dispensaries check the Colorado medical marijuana registry database to confirm the identities and registration of buyers in the state's medical marijuana program.
According to Article XVIII, Section 14 of the Colorado Constitution, before a person can use medical marijuana legally in Colorado, they must consult a qualified healthcare provider. A healthcare provider may recommend medical marijuana for a patient diagnosed with a severe medical condition that qualifies them for medical marijuana treatment. The kinds of healthcare professionals that may recommend medical marijuana for patients in Colorado are:
There is no official registry of approved healthcare practitioners that can recommend medical marijuana in Colorado. Nevertheless, for a healthcare provider to recommend medical marijuana in Colorado, they must be licensed to practice in the state. Also, they must have a valid certification from the US Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and an online account with the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE).
Persons under the age of 18 can use medical marijuana in Colorado. However, in line with Article XVIII, Section 14 of the Colorado Constitution, the following conditions must be met before a minor can use medical marijuana in the state:
Yes. Colorado allows qualified patients to obtain medical marijuana cards without parental consent when they turn 18. Those turning 18 can simply apply for marijuana cards in their own names and without designating caregivers.
Medical marijuana physician recommendations in Colorado are valid for one year. To renew a marijuana registry card in Colorado, a registered medical marijuana patient must see a qualified healthcare provider. If a medical professional recommends medical marijuana for a patient, they will issue them a new provider certification. Afterward, the marijuana registry renewal card applicant must log in to their account on the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) medical marijuana portal to complete their online application, provide the required documents, and pay the renewal processing fee.
Registered medical marijuana patients in Colorado can grow cannabis plants at home. Per Article XVIII, Section 14 of the Colorado Constitution, a medical marijuana patient can cultivate up to six cannabis plants at home, with a maximum of three plants in the flowering stage. The cultivation area must be hidden from public view and enclosed to prevent access by unauthorized persons.
The Colorado medical marijuana card exempts the cardholder from the 15% excise tax the state places on recreational marijuana purchases. Cardholders can also buy up to 2 ounces of cannabis, while non-cardholders can only purchase up to 1 ounce.
A medical marijuana caregiver is a person who is authorized to obtain marijuana products, transport, or grow cannabis plants on behalf of a registered medical marijuana patient. Per the provisions of Senate Bill 15-014, there are four different types of medical marijuana caregivers in Colorado. These are:
To become a medical cannabis caregiver in Colorado, a person must be 18 years or older and be a resident of Colorado. A medical marijuana patient's caregiver cannot be their physician or own any medical marijuana business in the state. Medical marijuana caregivers must register with the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) to obtain marijuana registry caregiver identification cards. Transporting and cultivating caregivers in Colorado are allowed to have a maximum of five medical marijuana patients under their care, and they are required to register with the Colorado Department of Revenue (DOR). Medical marijuana patients are not automatically assigned caregivers during registration with the CDPHE. If a medical marijuana patient requires the services of a caregiver, they may enter the caregiver's registration identification when applying for their marijuana registry card.
Colorado does not offer medical marijuana reciprocity. Out-of-state patients are not permitted to buy marijuana from medical marijuana dispensaries but can make recreational marijuana purchases if they are of legal age.
Per 5 CCR 1006-2, personal records and identifying information held by the Department of Public Health and Environment are confidential. No person may be permitted to gain access to information maintained by the department about patients or their primary caregivers. However, there are specific exceptions made for access, such as when authorized employees of the CDPHE, in the course of their official functions, and authorized employees of local and state law enforcement agencies stop or arrest a person claiming to be engaged in the medical marijuana use and in possession of a registry identification card.
Colorado law does not require insurers to cover the costs related to medical marijuana.
The Colorado medical marijuana card allows the individual named on the card to buy up to 2 ounces of weed. No more than 40 grams of this 2-ounce limit may be in concentrated form.
Yes, you may visit a recreational marijuana dispensary in Colorado if you do not have a medical marijuana card. From such retail stores, you can buy up to 1 ounce of weed if you have a valid ID to prove you are 21 or older. However, to buy medical marijuana, you must have a Colorado medical marijuana card.