How To Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Colorado

Apply For Colorado Medical Marijuana Card Online

What is an MMJ Card in Colorado?

A Colorado state medical marijuana card is official identification that allows the bearer to purchase and consume medical marijuana. Medical marijuana is backed by Article 18, section 14 of the Colorado constitution and Title 12, Article 43.3. of the Colorado Revised Statutes. Known as the Colorado Medical Marijuana Code, the law also allows card bearers to grow a limited amount of cannabis plants at home. Medical marijuana patients use cannabis to deal with exceptionally debilitating physical or mental health conditions like cancer and human immunodeficiency virus (HIV). Although the Federal Controlled Substance Act outlaws the use, sale, or cultivation of cannabis, Colorado enables residents to use cannabis as treatment within its legal space, although with certain restrictions. For instance, residents cannot use medical cannabis on federal property. Otherwise, they risk arrest by law enforcement and prosecution.

Who Can Apply for an MMJ Card in Colorado?

In Colorado, residents with one or more qualifying health conditions can apply for MMJ cards. Applicants must submit complete applications and provide accurate information or risk having their applications rejected. If the Medical Marijuana Registry rejects your application, they will send you a rejection letter with details so that you can correct the problem within 60 days.

Can a Minor Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card in Colorado?

Minors under 18 years can get medical marijuana cards if they meet all of the following requirements:

  • The minor and their parents live in Colorado
  • The minor has met with two physicians who have both diagnosed the patient with a debilitating medical condition
  • One of those medical practitioners has outlined the possible downsides and upsides of using medical marijuana to the patient and their parents
  • The medical practitioner has willfully given the minor the legal documentation that Colorado requires
  • Both of the parents' consent - in writing - to the minor's use of medical marijuana
  • One of the minor's parents will serve as the child's primary caregiver
  • The child's primary caregiver (parent) completes and submits a medical marijuana identification card application
  • The primary caregiver controls the acquisition, dosage, and frequency of the minor's medical marijuana use

What Conditions Qualify for Medical Marijuana Cards in Colorado in 2024?

Per the Colorado constitution, patients may only apply for medical marijuana identification cards if they suffer from specific debilitating medical conditions. The Medical Marijuana Registry will not accept applications if the specified medical condition does not qualify for cannabis therapy. The approved list of medical conditions include:

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
  • Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
  • Any chronic or debilitating medical condition or disease which causes:
    • Cachexia (wasting syndrome / severe weight loss)
    • Severe pain
    • Severe nausea
    • Seizures (including those caused by epilepsy)
    • Recurrent muscle spasms (including those related to multiple sclerosis)

The following conditions do not qualify as debilitating medical conditions, under Colorado law:

  • Asthma Atherosclerosis
  • Bipolar Disease
  • Crohn's Disease
  • Diabetes Mellitus
  • Types 1 & 2 Diabetic Retinopathy
  • Hepatitis C
  • Hypertension
  • Methicillin-Resistant
  • Staphylococcus Aureus (MRSA)
  • Opioid Dependence;
  • Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD);
  • Severe Anxiety and Clinical Depression
  • Tourette's Syndrome

How Do I Apply for an MMJ Card in Colorado in 2024?

In Colorado, patients with qualifying medical conditions can apply for medical marijuana identification cards from the state’s Department of Public Health and Environment by taking the following steps:

  • See a state-approved physician who will write and submit a provider certification for you digitally. You must print a copy of the certification and complete the rest of your application within six months. Ensure that the details on the certificate are accurate. Minor patients must visit and obtain certifications from two physicians
  • Ensure that you check the lists of required documentation and that you have everything. Per state rules, adult applicants should have:
    • A valid driver's license or Colorado-issued ID: If you are applying online, you must have a JPEG or PDF copy of your physical
    • Applicant's social security number
    • Caregiver's registration ID if applying through a caregiver
    • A credit card (or bank account and routing number) to settle the $25 application processing fee
  • Complete your application online after creating an account on the Colorado Medical Marijuana Portal
  • Submit your application and wait for a response. If you submit complete and accurate information, you should receive an email response within 1 - 3 business days. Otherwise, your application will take longer. Once approved, you can download your medical marijuana identification card from your online account

Note that Colorado requires two provider certifications from minors applying for its medical marijuana card. These certifications must come from two physicians in two different medical practices unless the minor’s debilitating condition makes them homebound. This requirement also applies to individuals between the ages of 18 and 20, who are applying for Colorado medical marijuana cards for the first time.

The Medical Marijuana Registry also allows individuals who do not have internet access to send mail-in applications for medical cannabis cards. To send a mail-in application, complete and send an Adult Application Form, along with a copy of your Colorado ID or driver's license. Also, include a $25 check, payable to CDPHE, or a fee waiver with a certified copy of your current Colorado Tax Return. Ask your physician to submit your certification online and print a copy for your records. If you mail an application, it will take approximately 6 - 8 weeks to receive a response. Once approved, the Registry will send your medical marijuana identification card by mail.

How Does a Primary Caregiver Get a Colorado MMIC?

Per Colorado Revised Statute 25-1.5-106, there are four types of caregivers:

  • Cultivating caregivers who grow cannabis on behalf of patients
  • Transporting caregivers who transport cannabis for homebound or minor patients
  • Parents or legal representatives of minors under age 18
  • Advising caregivers who advise patients on the medicinal use of marijuana

To register as a primary caregiver in Colorado, you must meet these requirements:

  • Be 18 or older
  • Be a Colorado resident
  • Must not be the patient's physician
  • Must not have a primary caregiver
  • Must not have a medical marijuana business license

If you wish to register as a primary caregiver, you must apply through the Medical Marijuana Registry - Caregivers by doing the following:

  • Create an account and provide a temporary password which you will change after you log in
  • Login and enter your information. You should have a JPEG or PDF copy of your valid Colorado ID or driver's license and social security number
  • Submit the application
  • Print your caregiver ID card

If you are a caregiver, encourage your patients to apply online and attach your caregiver registration ID to their applications. Once they send in their applications, you must check your email and respond to the caregiver agreement. If your patient is sending a mail-in application, they must submit a copy of your valid Colorado ID with their application.

How long does it take to get a Colorado MMIC?

The Medical Marijuana Registry reviews MMIC applications and sends email approvals for complete and accurate submissions within 1 - 3 business days. Once approved, you can simply download your medical marijuana identification card from your online account.

Suppose your application is incomplete or contains inaccurate information. In that case, the Registry will send you an email with the details and give you sixty days to correct the inaccuracies or complete your application. However, if the Registry denies your application, you must wait at least sixty days before sending another application.

Getting a Colorado Medical Marijuana Card Online

The Medical Marijuana Registry accepts applications for medical cannabis cards online through Colorado Medical Marijuana Portal. The following steps outline how to get a Colorado medical marijuana card online:

  • Log in to the Colorado Medical Marijuana Portal
  • Click "New" under "Tracking Inbox: Patient Registration" and enter your information. Ensure that it is accurate
  • Add your provider certification by clicking the "Provider certification" tab, clicking "New," and choosing your provider certification from the drop-down menu
  • Choose your cultivation information by clicking the "Cultivation information" tab, clicking "New," selecting your cultivation option, and completing the required fields
  • Pay the non-refundable $25 application fee. To pay with a credit card, debit card, or electronic check, you can click the "Payment" tab, click "New," and choose "Click here to pay." Doing this will take you to a new window to enter your payment information. If your household income is 185% of the Federal Poverty Level or less, you may be entitled to a fee waiver. You may obtain this waiver by submitting a certified copy of your most recent Colorado tax return
  • Submit the application

How Much Does a Medical Marijuana Card Cost in Colorado?

The Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry charges a $29.90 fee to obtain a medical marijuana card. However, it offers waivers to anyone whose household income is 185% of the Federal Poverty Level or less.

What Documents Do I Need to Apply for a Medical Cannabis Card in Colorado?

In Colorado, you need the following documents to apply for a medical marijuana identification card:

  • A valid Colorado driver's license or a state-issued ID card
  • A provider's certification - A state-approved physician will issue one after confirming that you have one of the qualifying health conditions. Minors must obtain certificates from two physicians. Note that your physician must upload the document on your behalf

How Do I Renew My Medical Marijuana Card?

If you have a Colorado medical marijuana identification card, you may sort out your renewal up to 90 days before the card expires. Like first-time applicants, people applying to renew their Colorado MMJ cards must visit state-licensed doctors who will write and submit their certifications. Applicants must then complete their renewal application, pay the $25 renewal fee, and submit their application. As with a standard application, the Medical Marijuana Registry will respond by email in 1 - 3 business days.

Are My Details Kept Confidential When I Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Colorado?

Per the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA), Colorado's Medical Marijuana Registry keeps all details included in a medical marijuana card application confidential. The federal government enacted HIPAA in 1996 as a national standard for client information confidentiality. The act mandates healthcare providers to keep patient's sensitive details from the public domain.

What Information Appears On A Colorado Medical Marijuana Card?

The following information appears on a typical Colorado medical marijuana card:

  • The patient's name
  • The patient's date of birth
  • The card's issuance and expiry date
  • The patient's social security number
  • The patient's caregiver's name and address

Can Someone Track Me Down Through The Colorado Registry?

Nobody can track you down through the Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry. This is because the Registry keeps your information confidential, per the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA).

In this section:
Colorado Marijuana MMJ Card