Both medical and recreational marijuana weed deliveries are legal in Colorado. However, the state allows local governments to prohibit such operations within their jurisdictions. Therefore, you need to be aware of local rules in your area to be sure you can enjoy weed delivery services. Medical marijuana delivery and recreational marijuana delivery in Colorado are only available to persons aged 21 years or older.
Yes, medical marijuana delivery has been legal in Colorado under HB19-1234 since 2019. HB19-1234 contains rules for the regulated delivery of marijuana in Colorado jurisdictions that have voted to allow medical marijuana delivery by referendum or the jurisdictions’ governing boards. A one-dollar surcharge is placed on each medical marijuana delivery, and the fee is remitted to the municipality where the retailer making the delivery is located or to the county if the retailer is in an unincorporated area. This revenue is intended for local law enforcement costs related to marijuana enforcement. Deliveries to a customer are limited to one per day and private residences. Weed deliveries may not be made to Colorado college campuses.
Yes, per state law, recreational marijuana delivery is legal in Colorado pursuant to the provisions of Amendment 64, which legalized recreational cannabis, and its subsequent amendments.
Yes, you can order weed online in Colorado if you are of legal age and have the required identification document to use a weed delivery service. Colorado dispensaries use delivery motor vehicles duly registered with the state to deliver marijuana to their customers. Dispensaries may enter into contracts with registered marijuana transporters licensed by the state to deliver orders for them. You may place orders for medical or recreational marijuana over the phone or via the websites of the dispensaries offering marijuana delivery as permitted by Colorado marijuana delivery rules.
According to Colorado's marijuana delivery rules, a medical marijuana delivery service may not deliver more than 2 ounces of medical marijuana, 40 grams of medical marijuana concentrate, or medical marijuana products with over 20,000 milligrams of THC to a registered medical cannabis patient. Similarly, a recreational marijuana delivery service may not deliver more than 1 ounce of non-concentrated adult-use cannabis, 8 grams of marijuana concentrate, or marijuana products with servings containing more than ten 80 milligrams of THC to a customer in one day.
Marijuana delivery service in Colorado is available to registered medical marijuana patients who are at least 21 years of age and parents or guardians of patients under the age of 18. Weed delivery is also allowed for recreational cannabis consumers, who are at least 21 years of age, at their private residences. Medical marijuana delivery to medical marijuana patients between the ages of 18 and 20 is not permitted.
Only licensed marijuana stores and marijuana transporters may conduct marijuana delivery in the State of Colorado. Hence, you must obtain a medical marijuana store license, medical marijuana transporter license, retail marijuana store license, or retail marijuana transporter license to be able to offer weed delivery service in the state.
Persons or entities that have obtained retail marijuana transporter or medical marijuana transporter licenses are required to have contracts with licensed stores (retail or medical marijuana) in order to conduct deliveries legally. Note that delivery services also need to obtain state delivery permits and other permits and licenses applicable in the Colorado municipalities or jurisdictions where they intend to operate.
You can find weed delivery services online using popular marijuana directory services, allowing users to search for delivery services by location.
Per Colorado's definition, a private residence encompasses various types of living spaces, including but not limited to a private dwelling, a place of habitation, a house, a residential unit with multiple occupants, or an apartment unit. However, a private residence does not include premises situated at a school, on the campus of an institution of higher education, public property, or any commercial property units like offices or retail spaces.
You must show an ID to prove you are 21 or older at the point of recreational marijuana delivery. Also, such orders can only be received by the persons who made the purchases. To receive a medical marijuana order, you must have an ID card, to prove you are 21 years or older, and a Colorado medical marijuana card. If you are under the age of 21 and have been authorized to use medical marijuana in Colorado, you can have your parent or guardian receive medical cannabis orders on your behalf. Your parent or guardian will be required to show a valid photo ID showing their date of birth and proof of representation as a caregiver.
Colorado legislators in 2019 allowed local governments to choose whether to permit medical marijuana deliveries in their jurisdictions under HB19-1234. The same provision is available for local authorities per recreational marijuana delivery. Therefore, weed delivery may not be available in Colorado cities and municipalities where the service has been prohibited.