Yes, you can smoke weed in Colorado if you are of age under Colorado cannabis laws.
It is illegal to smoke cannabis in public places in Colorado. Public places include parks, playgrounds, bars, cafes, sidewalks, roads, public transportation, marijuana stores, concert venues, ski resorts, schools, and common areas of apartment buildings or condominiums. If you are caught smoking cannabis in public places, you may be fined up to $100 and sentenced to 15 days in jail.
You cannot smoke weed in a vehicle in Colorado. If you are transporting weed within Colorado, ensure the substance is kept in a sealed container in the car’s trunk. If you are caught smoking weed in a moving or parked car, you will be penalized.
Only adults aged 21 or older can smoke weed for recreational purposes in Colorado. If you possess a valid Colorado medical marijuana card, you may smoke medical cannabis in the state.
The recommended locations to smoke weed in Colorado are on private properties and in licensed cannabis consumption lounges. However, Colorado property owners are allowed to ban weed smoking on their properties. If you reside in a rented unit, you may not be allowed to smoke marijuana in your home. Hotel owners may also ban weed smoking on their properties, so you may not be able to smoke cannabis in a hotel room.
It is illegal to smoke cannabis on federal properties, such as national parks, national forests, and ski slopes, since weed is illegal under federal law. You will be prosecuted under federal law if caught smoking weed on federal lands. Persons caught smoking on a federal property may be fined up to $5,000 and sentenced to up to 6 months in jail.