In Colorado, possession of marijuana is legal for recreational and medical purposes. Colorado passed Amendment 64 in 2012 to legalize marijuana for recreational use by adults aged 21 and above. The law permits adult possession to 56.7 grams (2 ounces) of marijuana for personal use. However, it is unlawful to use marijuana in public, and property owners can ban the consumption of weed on their premises.
Furthermore, the Colorado Medical Marijuana program, established by Amendment 21 in 2000, allowed medical marijuana registry patients and caregivers to possess up to 56.7 grams (2 ounces) of marijuana and up to 8 grams of marijuana concentrates. They can also possess up to six marijuana plants, including not more than three mature plants. The law defines medical marijuana patients as persons with certain qualifying, debilitating medical conditions that have been registered on the Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry. The medical marijuana registry is maintained by the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment.
Possession of weed for personal use is legal in Colorado, provided it is not more than 56 grams (2 ounces). However, a person in possession of weed can face felony charges depending on the following factors and considerations:
In Colorado, first-time marijuana possession offenders aged 21 years and above are charged with drug misdemeanors.
Colorado passed HB 19-1263 in 2020 to reduce marijuana possession from drug felony to drug misdemeanor. Possession of marijuana can only be charged as a drug misdemeanor with different sentencing options and limited incarceration regardless of the quantity. Per HB 19-1263, marijuana possession penalties are lesser than other drug possession penalties.
Adults aged 21 years and above can purchase weed from licensed dispensaries (stores) in Colorado. Medical marijuana registry cardholders can buy marijuana from licensed medical marijuana dispensaries within the allowed limit.
The Colorado Department of Revenue registers medical and retail marijuana stores and maintains a list of licensed stores. Persons intending to purchase weed must present their identification cards indicating their ages before they are allowed to buy marijuana products. Interested persons can also purchase marijuana from online stores and deliver it to their homes.
You must be 21 years old or older to buy weed in Colorado. Amendment 61 prohibits minors from purchasing, possessing, or consuming weed in the state. Dispensaries are prohibited from selling weed to persons under the age of 21 years. Anyone that sells or gives an underage person marijuana can be charged with a felony.
Medical marijuana patients under 21 years can purchase marijuana from licensed medical marijuana dispensaries provided they present valid and current Colorado medical marijuana registry cards. Minor medical marijuana patients must consume marijuana under the supervision of their parents or caregivers.
Per Amendment 64, persons aged 21 years and above can possess 2 ounces (56 grams) of marijuana per time. Likewise, Amendment 21 permits medical marijuana patients of whatever age to possess 2 ounces (56 grams) of marijuana per time.
Medical marijuana registry patients and their caregivers must have a current and valid Colorado medical marijuana registry card when in possession of marijuana in public. They may possess more than the legal limits if it is medically necessary and prescribed by a medical doctor. However, the burden to prove the medical necessity lies with the suspect if law enforcement agents catch them with marijuana quantities more than the legal limit.
Amendment 64 defines a minor in Colorado as a person under 21 years. Therefore, a person under 18 years found with weed can face a minor-in-possession charge. Also, a minor possessing marijuana paraphernalia like bongs or pipes can be charged with a minor-in-possession charge. However, in this case, a MIP charge will only apply if the minor knows or should reasonably know that the marijuana paraphernalia can be used to consume marijuana.
Minors found in possession of marijuana may be penalized with fines, public services, and interventions. Fines range from $100 to $250. They may also be denied financial aid for college tuition payments because marijuana is classified as a Schedule I substance with a tendency for abuse and is illegal at the federal level.
Six plants. Amendment 64 permits residents aged 21 and above to grow up to six marijuana plants per person with not more than three mature and flowering plants per time for personal use.
Marijuana is illegal at the federal level. Hence, traveling with weed to other states is illegal. Weed is prohibited in all airports in Colorado. Carrying any amount of weed at an airport may result in criminal charges.
No, it is not illegal to be high in public in Colorado. However: