Yes. There are marijuana dispensaries in Thornton. Per Section 42-712 of Article X of the Thornton City Code, the city council issues licenses for retail marijuana stores.
No. There are no medical marijuana dispensaries in Thornton.
Yes. You can buy cannabis online from weed dispensaries in Thornton. The city does not limit the kind of cannabis products sold online. Therefore, the range of products available physically at retail marijuana stores is available for purchase online.
You can make your visit to a Thornton weed dispensary memorable by considering the following regulations:
Age: Access to a Thornton adult-use dispensary will only be granted if you are 21 or older. The city, pursuant to state law, requires cannabis dispensaries to prohibit minors from accessing their facilities
Identification requirement: Regardless of how old you look or claim, you must provide a valid government-issued photo ID to support your age claims. If your ID is not valid or fails to verify that you are of legal age to use cannabis, you will be turned back at the dispensary’s entrance
Payment: You should bring cash to a Thornton dispensary as that is the preferred mode of completing payments in such facilities. Although debit cards may be accepted on occasion, credit cards are not generally accepted. If you forget to bring cash to a Thornton dispensary, you will find an ATM on-site to withdraw cash for your purchase
Consumption rules: It is illegal to consume cannabis on Thornton dispensary premises even if you have purchased cannabis products at the dispensary. You should wait until you get home to open the cannabis package.
Dispensaries in Thornton operate under the following laws:
A dispensary can only operate in Thornton only after obtaining the relevant state and local license and permit
A marijuana store may not be located within 500 feet of a licensed childcare facility, alcohol or drug treatment facility, or 1,000 feet of a private or public school
A dispensary may not be located within 1,500 feet of another marijuana store or in the same structure or building
Colorado law prohibits marijuana retailers from dispensing more cannabis than the quantity allowed
Dispensaries must prohibit cannabis use on the premises
A dispensary may not sell recreational cannabis to anyone under the age of 21
Thornton recreational weed laws are in line with the statutes of Amendment 64, which legalized adult-use cannabis in the city. Under Amendment 64:
Thornton adults aged 21 or older may possess up to 28.3 grams of cannabis and 8 grams of concentrated cannabis for personal use
Driving or operating a motor vehicle in Thornton while under the influence of marijuana is illegal
The use of cannabis in public locations is unlawful
Crossing state lines with cannabis in Thornton is illegal
Possessing cannabis on federal property in Thornton constitutes a federal offense
Thornton adults aged 21 or older may cultivate up to six cannabis plants, including three mature plants. If two or more adults reside in a household, no more than 12 cannabis plants may be cultivated there
It is illegal to give or sell cannabis to minors
Residents of Thornton who are at least 18 and have a qualifying chronic and severe medical condition can legally use cannabis for medicinal purposes subject to certain limitations. They must be registered in the Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry and have current CDPHE-issued medical marijuana cards to buy medical cannabis. Initiative 20, later codified in Section 16, Article XVIII of the Colorado Constitution, is the legislation that legalized medical cannabis use in Thornton and other Colorado jurisdictions.
While not all medical conditions qualify for medical marijuana use, conditions such as Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), cancer, cachexia, and HIV/AIDS are approved. Still, you must obtain a medical cannabis certification from a Colorado-licensed physician before you may be allowed to register in the Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry. The state registry is not limited to persons aged 18 or older. Therefore, Thornton residents under the age of 18 can access medical cannabis by designating adult caregivers who are required to be Colorado residents. Thornton residents under 18 must also obtain medical cannabis certifications from two healthcare professionals attesting that they have state-approved conditions.
Patients who have obtained medical marijuana cards are allowed to possess and consume up to 57 grams of usable cannabis in their homes. Additionally, patients can grow six cannabis plants, of which no more than three must be in the flowering stage at any given time. Under some circumstances, a patient may be eligible to grow more cannabis plants at home.
You can get a medical marijuana identification card in Thornton by completing a registration to the CDPHE (Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment) for enrollment in the state Medical Marijuana Registry. To complete registration for a registry enrollment, follow these steps:
Check that you meet the residency requirement: To be eligible for a medical marijuana registry identification card in Thornton, you must reside in the city, be 18 or older, and have a qualifying debilitating condition. The CDPHE-approved conditions are:
Persistent muscle spasm
Autism spectrum disorder
Any condition for which a physician may prescribe an opioid
Schedule an appointment with your healthcare provider: Your healthcare professional must certify that you have one of the qualifying conditions for medicinal marijuana in Colorado. If you are a minor patient, you must consult two physicians and present two physician certifications. Individuals between 18 and 20 must provide certifications from two separate medical practitioners. If you are a homebound patient between the ages of 18 and 20, your provider certifications do not need to be issued by physicians from different medical practices
Create an online account on the Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry
Initiate the medical marijuana card application: Log in to your account on the registry and choose "New" under patient registration. Then complete the required fields and upload a JPEG or PDF copy of your current Colorado driver's license or any other State of Colorado ID card. Choose "save and submit patient application"
Add your healthcare provider certification: Click the “Provider certification” tab
Select your healthcare provider certification from the drop-down menu
Add your cultivation information: If you plan to grow cannabis plants at home, select the "cultivation information" tab and fill out the required fields
Pay: Select the "payment" tab to pay the processing fee of $29.50. Alternatively, providing a certified Colorado tax return for the current tax year may qualify for a complete waiver of the processing fee. You are eligible for a waiver if your household income is lower or equal to 185% of the Federal Poverty Level
Wait for the review of your application: If you submit your application online, the CDPHE will review it within one to three working days. If your application is accepted, you will get an email at the address provided on your application
To submit your application by mail:
Complete the adult application form
Include a request for proof of residency waiver
Include a copy of your current Colorado ID or driver's license
Include a $29.50 check or money order made payable to the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or a certified copy of the current Colorado Tax Return for an application fee waiver
Mail the completed application to:
4300 Cherry Creek Dr. S.
Thornton, CO 80246-1530
The processing of mail-in applications may take up to eight weeks. Applicants who submit their applications by mail will get their cards by mail when they become available. If you do not get your card or letter within 35 days, you may contact the CDPHE Medical Marijuana Registry by email at email@example.com or by phone at (303) 692-2184.
If you own the property where you live, you may consume cannabis there. Before using cannabis in a rented unit, check with the owner. Cannabis use is prohibited in public spaces and multi-unit dwellings.
You can purchase cannabis only from licensed dispensaries. You can visit the physical address of the dispensary or purchase online via the websites of the dispensaries. Note that an acceptable photo ID card, such as your driver’s license, is required to buy adult-use cannabis. To find the addresses of Thornton dispensaries, put "cannabis dispensaries near me" in an online search engine.
The average price of an 8th in Thornton is between $22 and $27.
Some popular cannabis strains in Thornton are:
Girl Scout Cookies
No. In Thornton, it is illegal to smoke cannabis in public locations, such as sidewalks, parkways, schools, and on the streets.
Adults in Thornton may possess up to 1 ounce of cannabis or cannabis-infused items, 8 grams of cannabis concentrates, or 800 milligrams of THC in marijuana products.
Shipping cannabis in Thornton is unlawful under federal law if such movement is across state lines. Marijuana may be transported from one Colorado city to Thornton or vice versa as long as it is kept in sealed containers and transported in the trunk of your vehicle.
Yes. You can order cannabis online in Thornton from cannabis dispensaries offering online sales. You can order through the online menu of the dispensaries and via phone calls.
No. There are no dispensaries in Thornton approved to operate 24 hours a day.
Yes. Tourists with valid government-issued photo IDs showing they are of legal age (21 or older) can use recreational marijuana dispensaries in Thornton.
You do not need a medical marijuana license to purchase cannabis in Thornton. However, you must show a government-issued ID proving you are 21 or older to use cannabis in Thornton.
Rocky Road and Green Dragon are the best dispensaries in Thornton.
Thornton weed dispensaries scan customers’ IDs to ensure visitors are of legal age to purchase weed in the city.
There are four adult-use retail cannabis stores in Thornton, but there are no medical cannabis dispensaries in the city. Per Section 42-718 of Article X of the Thornton City Code, the city will approve no more than four marijuana store locations, with no more than one store location per geographical quadrant.
Credit cards are not accepted at Thornton marijuana stores. In the city, most cannabis purchases are made using cash. If you fail to bring cash to a dispensary, you can withdraw cash from an ATM at the dispensary's premises to purchase your items.
You may visit multiple Thornton cannabis dispensaries in one day. However, you cannot buy more cannabis products than is permitted in Colorado.
No. Cannabis businesses in Thornton do not take health insurance. Weed buyers in the city must pay the full worth of their products.
Yes. Cannabis stores in Thornton keep track of consumers’ purchases to ensure buyers do not exceed the maximum limits.
No. You must be aged 21 or older to enter an adult-use cannabis dispensary in Thornton.
The cannabis regulating agency in the City of Thornton is the Marijuana Enforcement Division (MED) of the Colorado Department of Revenue. For more information on contacting the CDOR’s MED, visit the MED page on the website of the CDOR.
To report illegal marijuana operations in Thornton, you may file a report to the Colorado Marijuana Enforcement Division or contact the Thornton police department. You may contact the Thornton Police Department through its tip line at (720) 977-5069 or its non-emergency response line at (720) 977-5150.